These 5 stages of Alzheimer’s can help you understand and prepare you for what to expect.

Preclinical Alzheimer’s

Usually identified only in research settings. You won’t notice symptoms during this stage.

This stage of Alzheimer’s can last for years, possibly even decades.

Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI)

People in this stage have mild changes in their memory and thinking ability.

The ability to make sound decisions can become harder for people with MCI.

Mild Dementia

This stage is often diagnosed when it becomes clear to family and doctors that a person is having significant trouble with memory and thinking.

Moderate Dementia

During this stage people grow more confused and forgetful and begin to need more help with daily activities and self-care.

In this stage people experience increasingly poor judgment and undergo significant changes in personality and behavior.

Severe Dementia

Mental function continues to decline, and the disease has a growing impact on movement and physical capabilities.

Your loved one may also lose the ability to communicate and require daily assistance.

On average, people with Alzheimer’s disease live between three and 11 years after diagnosis.

Pneumonia is a common cause of death because impaired swallowing allows food or beverages to enter the lungs. This is where an infection can begin.

Other common causes of death include:

  • Dehydration
  • Malnutrition
  • Falls
  • Other infections.

Thank you to for this content!

See full article HERE.